Tags

, , , , ,

Listen: “Sing Sing (with a Swing)” by Benny Goodman

Ginger ale is my favorite kind of soda, hands down. It’s also the soda I only get to drink when I’m on an airplane and the steward or stewardess comes down the aisle and asks, “What would you like to drink?” I’ll prompty answer ginger ale and if I’m in an especially adventurous mood, I’ll also ask for cranberry juice. The two mixed together is the nectar of the gods, or at least it comes in at a close second after ginger ale made with this homemade Orange Ginger Honey Syrup.

The closest I ever get to real ginger is the ginger chunks my mom adds to soups and I make sure to stay far away from them. I still cringe every time I see her munching on ginger chunks. Bleh. But this Orange Ginger Honey Syrup reminds me of when my grandmother used to give my sister and I ginger candy when we were kids. It was the only form of ginger I would eat as a child.

To make this syrup, I used:

Image

Cut orange in half and juice. I used my fancy-smancy orange juicer thing-a-ma-bob.

Image

Combine water, sugar, honey, and freshly squeezed orange juice in a large saucepan. I used about 1 quart of water.

Image

Next grate your ginger. Ginger graters exist and are probably the easiest thing to use, but I didn’t have one so just used a normal zester. Ginger graters are a lot safer for grating small things like ginger, so with a normal zester you just have to try really hard not to zest your fingers off. No one like finger chunks in their ginger syrup.

Image

Mix the ginger into the saucepan. Stir and let simmer for a bit.

I had a bit of some orange slices left over from a second orange I was eating so I added in some extra chunks.

Image

Strain the syrup and let sit.

Image

Once cooled, jar it up and have fun!

Image

I like making bubbly water and adding the Orange Honey Ginger Syrup to it to make my own ginger ale. You can also add it to salads as a sweet dressing or add it to your tea. The left over ginger chunks can also be eaten. They taste like a little bit of heaven. It’s essentially candy but way more delicious because it’s wasn’t processed in a factory. My favorite is adding it to ice cream as a topping. MmmmMm. Delish.

ORANGE HONEY GINGER SYRUP

Makes about a quart of syrup

  • 1 quart water
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 3 oz. fresh ginger, peeled & grated (about 1/2 cup)
  • juice of 1 orange

Combine the water, sugar, honey, ginger, and orange juice in a large saucepan, and stir to mix. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally until the sugar dissolves. Continue simmering for 15 minutes, uncovered. Remove from heat, let cool for 30 minutes, and strain out the solids. Pour into container and refrigerate for up to 2 months.

– Lesley