Tags

, , , , ,

Listen: “Sunday Morning”- The Velvet Underground*

It’s been a while, and since I last posted, my life has been simultaneously filled with college student-ing and empty of cooking.

Très mal– but it’s winter break, I’ve got a glorious month off, and I’m back!

Kaiya, you ask, what delicious recipe could you possibly offer in apology for three months of absence?Image

Errr… oatmeal. But it’s great oatmeal! Warm, friendly, holiday brunch-y oatmeal!

(The kind of oatmeal you can bring home to your cat, liberal college friends, childhood homies, conservative extended relatives, AND parents!)

Here’s what I used:

Image

Image

The real trick to this brunch is the fresh fruit, but pomegranate and coconut can be a bit wily. I cut a fourth from a pomegranate and scooped out the seeds with a spoon. Then, I took some fresh coconut that my father had already cut up (thx vati) and grated it with a potato peeler. Potato peelers are vastly underrated kitchen utensils–they are much easier to use than traditional graters, can fit a variety of shapes, and as a bonus, they can be used to remove the lips of jerks!**

Image

Make sure that you use coconut MILK, not water, for this oatmeal. While you might get a slight coconut taste with coconut water, you certainly won’t get the fluffy texture and nutty tone of coconut milk. If you are worried about your oatmeal being too creamy, pair the 1/2 cup coconut milk with water. I found this coconut milk in the asian food section of Safeway, but if you can’t find any at the average grocery store near you, your best bet is an asian or hispanic supermarket.

Image

Bring the coconut milk and milk/water to a boil in a small pot. After boiling, bring the liquid down to a simmer and add the oats and spices. After the oats look like they have soaked up all of the liquid (picture on the right), then add the brown sugar and pomegranate seeds. Don’t add the pomegranate seeds too early, because they will boil down and loose their crunch. I also add my brown sugar late so that I can tell how much I am putting in. Lastly, add the shaved coconut directly before serving.

Image

I made myself some of my favorite, cozy winter tea to match my cozy, pillowy oatmeal.

Image

HOLLA HOLLA-DAYS. This was a damn good sunday morning–world behind me and all.

COCONUT-POMEGRANATE OATMEAL

serves 1

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup water, milk, or milk substitute

1/2 cup grated coconut, fresh

1/4 pomegranate, fresh

1 spoonful brown sugar

pinch of: salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves

Bring water/milk and coconut milk to a boil in a small pot. Lower heat to a simmer and add oats and spices. Cook until oats are fluffy and have soaked up all of the liquid, then add pomegranate seeds and brown sugar. Add grated coconut just before serving. Serve with black tea and a book!

-Kaiya

*Since last posting on this blog, legendary rocker and ornery old-person Lou Reed has died. I highly suggest reading some of his interviews and lyrics and remembering how cool music is.

**THAT WAS A JOKE; WE DO NOT ADVOCATE VIOLENCE ON THE COOKING COLLEGE STUDENTS. IF A JERK IS REALLY BOTHERING YOU I SUGGEST THAT YOU PASSIVE-AGGRESSIVELY TAKE IT TO TWITTER OR PRINT OUT A WHOLE BUNCH OF INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE ESSAYS FOR THEM TO READ (GIVE IT TO THEM WITH TEA & HONEY, IT WILL SOOTH THEIR WOUNDED PRIDE, AND NOTHING IS MORE SUBVERSIVE THAN TREATING JERKS WITH PAIRED SWEETNESS AND PASSIONATE WORDS).

