Tags

, , , , ,

Listen: “Apples Peaches Pumpkin Pie” by Jay & The Techniques

I have a confession.

DSCN0943I’ve become a bread addict. Which is new, because I used to only eat carbs when I was shoving oatmeal into my mouth with a shovel. But this is different– this the kind of desire that usually only comes with pina-colada-beach nights and heroin, before you’ve decided that yes, you really should check out those self-help books.

So along with the pretzels, cornbread waffles, naan, and amazing focaccia (more on that later) I’ve been making, my lovely friend Claudia helped me to bake pumpkin bread.

DSCN0918Here’s Claudia getting ready to spoon sugar into her mouth, Def Leppard-style. Isn’t she a cutie?

This is what we used:

pumpkin breadPumpkin bread is very forgiving, and baking it is a relatively speedy process. This bread came out so well that I actually made it twice: once with Claudia, and once the morning after. The second time I made the bread, I increased the amount of whole wheat flour I used to 1 cup (with only 3/4 cups of white flour) and decreased the amount of sugar to a (generous) 1/2 cup.

Though you can use 1/2 cup of any type of fat, we chose to use canola oil; using butter in a baking recipe makes a fluffier finished product, but I prefer pumpkin bread to be heavy and canola oil works to make the texture of this bread smoother. I chose to also include honey in this recipe, and the taste and texture played in well.

DSCN0933I like this picture because you can see my feet, and I also think that the colors in pumpkin bread are beautiful.

In a large bowl, combine the oil and sugar, then add the pumpkin, eggs, and honey– stir well until the texture is smooth. In another bowl, mix together the flours, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and sugar. Then, alternate between pouring water into the dry mix and pouring the wet into the dry mix, until the texture of the dough is smooth, like cake batter. Heat the oven to 350 degrees, and lightly grease a baking tin. Claudia and I actually used three small baking tins, making our breads perfect breakfast presents!

DSCN0938Bake the bread for about 1 hour 15 minutes, though it will be less for smaller breads. Then enjoy! These are perfect for breakfast when combined with nut butter and berries, like a heavenly pb&j (pbpb&b).

photo (3)Claudia and I having fun in the sun. We’re quite the pair.

If you are interested in how Lesley is doing in Cambridge, you can follow her adventures here. Or if not, check back at thecookingcollegestudents on Thursday! I’ve got some stuff a’brewin.

Pumpkin Bread, adapted from The Pancake Princess

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup white flour

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

3/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 eggs

1 tbs honey

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the oil and sugar together. Add the eggs, pumpkin, and honey, and mix well. Mix the dry ingredients in another bowl. Combine, alternating between pouring water into the dry mixture and pouring the wet into the dry mixture, until you have a smooth, batter-like dough. Pour into a greased baking tin and bake for an hour and 15 minutes.

– Kaiya

