The first in a series of playlists suitable for rockin’ out in the kitchen. Lesley and I disco’d to these songs while making our “kale slaw,” and it was perfect.

“Hong Kong Garden”- Siouxie And The Banshees
“Rave On”- Buddy Holly
“A Lion’s Heart”- The Tallest Man On Earth
“Heart of Chambers”- Beach House
“Ya Hey”- Vampire Weekend
“Into The Wild”- LP
“Lightning Bolt”- Jake Bugg
“Emmylou”- First Aid Kit
“Lay, Lady, Lay”- Bob Dylan
“Runaway”- Kanye West, Pusha T
“Runaway”- Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Liner Notes:

1. I find myself placing “Hong Kong Garden” in almost too many of my playlists… the opening rhythms are really compelling and I love Siouxie And The Banshees’ lyrics.

2. The Tallest Man On Earth moves me more than any other modern artist. I am going to see him at Outside Lands this August and I cannot contain my excitement. (Spoiler alert: I’ll probably cry).

4. From Vampire Weekend’s newest album, Modern Vampires Of The City. If you haven’t listened yet, please do. MVOTC is an incredible mix of sharp, eloquent, elegant, and true. My favorite album of 2013 (thus far) and definitely the most intelligent.

5. Lesley and I saw LP live on Saturday at San Francisco’s “Cultivate Festival.” LP’s voice is astounding, honestly. Her sound is vivid.

9, 10. I love pairing together songs by name, because they often have more in common than one would think. These “Runaways” are a wonderful combination of hard and soft– my favorite aesthetic for summer.

– Kaiya

