Tags

, , , , , , ,

Listen: Tangle in This Trampled Wheat by The Tallest Man On Earth

Image

Now that it’s officially summer, I love using quinoa in everything I make. (Nutritional fact: Quinoa is a complete protein! 1 cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) contains 8.14 grams of protein) This quinoa salad so so easy to make. Chop everything up, toss it all together, squeeze a little lime on top, and voila! Also, if you can’t find any bell pepper or aren’t a big fan of kale, you can always rummage around your refrigerator and add in veggies you like better.

And we’re off!

ImageI used quinoa from Trader Joes’, but what I’ve found is that if you go to Whole Foods you can buy quinoa in bulk and pay by the pound and it’s way cheaper.

I made my quinoa like oatmeal. Boil 1 cup of water for every 1/2 cup of quinoa you’re making, add the quinoa to the boiled water, and let cook until you can see the germ ring around the grain and most of the water is gone. Drain and drizzle some olive oil on top.

Be extra careful when deciding how much quinoa to use. It expands as it cooks and I almost always end up with too much.

ImageWhile the quinoa is cooking, chop up all your veggies! Slices or chunks, whatever what your heart desires! I used avocado, kale, cucumber, tomato, yellow bell pepper, and spinach.

ImagePlace quinoa and vegetables in bowl and mix. If you’re like me and go overboard with vegetables, at this point you’ll realize that your vegetable to quinoa ratio is a bit off. But no worries, it’ll be salad with quinoa instead of quinoa with vegetables. But look at all those yummy veggies.Image

Mix together and serve!

Image

I has some kale and spinach left over so I threw it all in a blender with some milk, frozen bananas, frozen strawberries, and peanut butter to make a vegetable smoothie. Kaiya and I are really on this vegetable smoothie hype right now.

ImageI love this quinoa salad, but I definitely noticed that I favor the avocado. 2 minutes into eating, all the avocado was gone and I left with everything else. The amount of ingredients I used served 2 people, so I ended up having it for lunch and dinner. Enjoy!

QUINOA SALAD WITH KALE AND SPINACH

serves 2

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 bunch spinach
  • 1/2 avacado
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1/4 bell pepper
  • 1/5 mini cucumber
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (amount varies)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Cook quinoa according to instructions on package.Set Aside

Chop up vegetables into strips or chunks.

In a large bowl, toss cooked quinoa with 1 tablespoon olive oil. Mix in chopped vegetables and squeeze lime juice on top to finish off the dish. Season with salt & pepper if so desired.

Enjoy!

-Lesley

